THE WEDDING MARCH
USA, Paramount Pictures, 1928, 108 minutes
Scriptwriters: Harry Carr, Erich von Stroheim
Director: Erich von Stroheim
Production designers: Richard Day, Erich von Stroheim
Composers: John Stepan Zamecnik, Louis De Francesco
Cast: Erich von Stroheim, Faye Wray, Matthew Betz, Zazu Pitts, George Nichols, George Fawcett, Maud George, Dale Fuller, Cesare Gravina
American film director, screenwriter, and actor Erich von Stroheim (1885–1957) remained in the history of filmmaking as an artist inconvenient for the industry, due to his perfectionism and unwillingness to limit himself in terms of time and finances. His films, of which the original 7-hour naturalistic drama “Greed” (1923-25) is the best known, were cut and remade, which destroyed the director's (often extravagant) vision, but allowed them to be released. Some of them, like his first work "Blind Husbands" (1919) and "Foolish Wives" (1922), were popular successes.
The genius of the director was also recognized by the producers. But they could not help but worry about the financial side of things, which, starting with “Foolish Wives”, Stroheim stubbornly, openly neglected. He was always interested in something else. He was passionate about working out the smallest details, the credibility of which allows him to imagine and construct almost any screen world: Stroheim was directly involved in designing the decor and costumes for his films.
Stroheim’s acting career was less controversial. All his directorial work took place during the period of silent cinema, but he continued to act in films with the advent of sound, almost until the end of his life. For instance, in 1950 he played one of his most famous roles in Billy Wilder's film “Sunset Boulevard”, a requiem for a long-gone silent film era.
Released on October 6, 1928, “The Wedding March” was filmed in 1926-27 for producer Pat A. Powers, the first distributor of Walt Disney's sound animations (according to some sources, Stroheim was a producer as well).
“The Wedding March” is one of the director’s favorite types of films: critical dramas that explore forms of sexuality. But in this case, he softened his desire for psychological realism mixed with soft satire, with nostalgic romanticism connected to the memories of the pre-American period of his life and embodied on the screen when the old world that had raised him no longer existed.
Before moving to the United States in 1909, Stroheim lived in Europe. His last name was not yet preceded by the aristocratic prefix "von" at the time: he was the son of a hatter who had moved to the capital of the Austro-Hungarian Empire. It was this city that became the background of “The Wedding March". Stroheim had observed the disappearance of the old Vienna already from across the ocean - and this, for sure, filled the images of the bygone Viennese life that he created with even greater romantic sadness and an even greater desire to reproduce that life with the maximum accuracy of details.
Almost all of “The Wedding March” (following the newsreel footage of Habsburg Vienna at the beginning of the film) was filmed using sets designed by Stroheim in collaboration with his longtime collaborator Richard Day. They also took part in designing the costumes corresponding to the era.
In “The Wedding March”, Stroheim played the leading role of an impoverished aristocrat, while Fay Wray performed the part of his commoner lover with restrained and sensuousness (a few years later she would appear in an expressive role in the film “King Kong” directed by Merian C. Cooper and Ernest B. Schoedsack (1933), which would make her a star).
The story of lovers doomed to tragic separation was the center and symbol of the doomed lifestyle of Vienna and the whole of Europe, worthy of satirical tones, but at the same time evoking a feeling of nagging nostalgia.
In addition to its design, editing, and acting, "The Wedding March" impressed the audience with color in the shots of the religious procession (according to the director, the color was supposed to convey the joy of the celebration) and, under the influence of the rapidly advancing era of film sound, with the recording of music and noise.
Like the romance of the main characters, “The Wedding March” was also doomed - to re-editing and the loss of the second part released as a separate film. In the 1950s, Stroheim reconstructed the remaining material in a form he considered close to the original. Thanks to this and to subsequent restorations, today we can again enjoy this masterfully made film inspired by memories and love.

Sergey Kapterev
Prince Nicki from an impoverished aristocratic family is experiencing problems with money: he has nothing to pay with for his favorite entertainment. His parents offer to solve his money problems by arranging an advantageous marriage. Nicki accepts the offer and breaks off his relationship with a simple Viennese girl Mitzi, despite their mutual attraction.
SHEDULE

November 18, Thursday
19:30
The Wedding March (1928)
The film will be screened in its original language with Russian subtitles. Film 35 mm.
12+

The film will be presented by the director of the Austrian Film Museum Michael Loebenstein (online).
Illuzion Cinema
Big Hall

November 19, Friday
21:10
The Wedding March (1928)
The film will be screened in its original language with Russian subtitles.
12+

Video message from the director of the Austrian Film Museum Michael Loebenstein.
Illuzion Cinema
Small Hall

Made on
Tilda

СВАДЕБНЫЙ МАРШ / THE WEDDING MARCH
США, Paramount Pictures, 1928, 108 минут
Авторы сценария: Гарри Кар, Эрих фон Штрогейм
Режиссёр: Эрих фон Штрогейм
Художники: Ричард Дэй, Эрих фон Штрогейм
Композиторы: Джон Стефан Замечник, Луис де Франческо
В ролях: Эрих фон Штрогейм, Фэй Рэй, Мэттью Бетц, Сейзу Питтс, Джордж Николас, Джордж Фосетт, Мод, Дэйл Фуллер, Чезаре Гравина
Американский кинорежиссёр, сценарист и актёр Эрих фон Штрогейм (1885–1957) остался в истории кинорежиссуры как неудобный для индустрии художник — в силу своего характера перфекциониста и нежелания ограничивать себя во времени и финансах. Его фильмы, среди которых наиболее известна изначально 7-часовая натуралистичная драма «Алчность» (1923–1925), сокращались и переделывались, что разрушало режиссёрское (часто экстравагантное) видение, но позволяло выпустить их в прокат. Некоторые из них — его первая работа «Слепые мужья» (1919) и «Глупые жёны» (1922) — имели зрительский успех.
Гений режиссёра был признан и продюсерами. Но они не могли не заботиться о финансовой стороне дела, которой, начиная с «Глупых жён», Штрогейм упрямо, демонстративно пренебрегал. Его всегда интересовало другое. Он был увлечён отработкой мельчайших деталей, убедительность которых позволяет сфантазировать и выстроить в кино практически любой мир — Штрогейм непосредственно участвовал в разработке декора и костюмов своих фильмов.
Актёрская карьера Штрогейма была менее спорной. Вся его режиссёрская работа пришлась на период немого кино, но сниматься он продолжал и с приходом звука, практически до конца своей жизни.
Вышедший на экраны 6 октября 1928 года «Свадебный марш» снимался в 1926–1927 годах для продюсера Пэта А. Пауэрса, первого дистрибьютора звуковых анимационных фильмов Уолта Диснея (согласно некоторым источникам продюсером был и сам Штрогейм).
«Свадебный марш» можно отнести к любимому типу фильмов режиссёра — критическим драмам, исследовавшим формы сексуальности. Но в этом случае своё стремление к психологическому реализму, смешанному с мягкой сатирой, он смягчил ностальгическим романтизмом, связанным с воспоминаниями о доамериканском периоде его жизни и воплощённым на экране тогда, когда воспитавший его старый мир уже не существовал.
До переезда в 1909 году в США Штрогейм жил в Европе. Фамилии его тогда ещё не предшествовала аристократическая приставка «фон» — он был сыном шляпника, переселившегося в столицу Австро-Венгерской империи. Именно этот город стал местом действия «Свадебного марша». За исчезновением старой Вены Штрогейм наблюдал уже из-за океана — и это наверняка наполнило созданные им картины ушедшей венской жизни ещё большей романтической грустью и ещё большим желанием воспроизвести ту жизнь с максимальной точностью деталей.
Практически весь «Свадебный марш» (после хроникальных кадров габсбургской Вены в начале фильма) был снят в декорациях, которые Штрогейм спроектировал совместно со своим давним соратником Ричардом Дэем. Они же принимали участие и в разработке соответствовавших эпохе костюмов.
Штрогейм сыграл в «Свадебном марше» главную мужскую роль — обедневшего аристократа, Фэй Рэй, сдержанно и чувственно, — его любовь-простолюдинку (через несколько лет она появится в экспрессивной роли в фильме «Кинг Конг» режиссёров Мериана Купера и Эрнеста Шодсака (1933), сделавшей её звездой).
История обречённых на трагическую разлуку влюблённых была центром и символом обречённого жизненного уклада Вены и всей Европы — достойного сатирических тонов, но при этом вызывавшего чувство щемящей ностальгии.
Кроме художественного оформления, монтажа и актёрской игры, «Свадебный марш» впечатлял цветом в кадрах религиозной процессии (по мнению режиссёра, цвет должен был передать радость праздника) и, под влиянием стремительно наступавшей эры кинозвука, записью музыки и шумов.
Как и любовь главных героев, «Свадебный марш» тоже был обречён — на перемонтаж и утерю выпущенной отдельным фильмом второй части. В 1950-е годы Штрогейм реконструировал оставшийся материал в форме, которую считал приближенной к оригиналу. Благодаря этому и более поздним реставраторам сегодня мы можем снова насладиться мастерски сделанным кино, вдохновлённым воспоминаниями и любовью.

Сергей Каптерев
киновед, доктор философии (PhD)
Принц Никки из оскудевшего аристократического рода испытывает трудности с деньгами. Он решается на брак по расчёту и разрывает отношения с простой девушкой Мицци, несмотря на взаимную симпатию. Драма об обречённой любви в Вене времен империи Габсбургов.
РАСПИСАНИЕ ПОКАЗОВ

18 ноября, четверг
19:30
Свадебный марш (1928)
Фильм будет показан на языке оригинала с русскими субтитрами. Плёнка 35 мм.
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Большой зал
Фильм представит директор Австрийского музея кино Михаэль Лоебенштейн (видеосвязь).

19 ноября, пятница
21:10
Свадебный марш (1928)
Фильм будет показан на языке оригинала с русскими субтитрами.
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Малый зал
Видеообращение директора Австрийского музея кино Михаэля Лоебенштейна.

!
Если вы студент профильного кинематографического вуза или факультета, киноколледжа или киношколы или имеете социальные льготы, пожалуйста, узнайте о специальных условиях в кинотеатре «Иллюзион» и забронируйте билет по телефону (495) 915-43-53. Забрать билет необходимо в кассе не позднее, чем за 30 минут до начала сеанса, предъявив соответствующий подтверждающий документ.
Made on
Tilda