OPERNRING / THANK YOU, MADAME / IM SONNENSCHEIN
Austria, Gloria-Film, Horus-Film, 1936, 90 minutes
Scriptwriter: Philipp Lothar Mayring
Director: Carmine Gallone
Director of photography: Franz Planer
Cast: Jan Kiepura, Friedl Czepa, Luli Deste, Theo Lingen, Fritz Imhoff, Anton Pointner
A sign of the times - in the film “Thank You, Madame”, the Polish tenor Jan Kiepura sings Giacomo Puccini's arias in German on the stage of the Vienna Opera House. Cinema, which had only recently begun to speak, became a "polyglot". But the arrival of sound also brought serious economic problems. The war of patents on sound systems resembled a division of Europe. Filmmakers began to look for new material: stories that could only be told in their native language. In 1933 Germany began to boycott films made by non-Aryan filmmakers. For a country where many immigrants and Jews were involved in film production (one only has to take a look at the management of the Tobis-Sascha studio), this meant the loss of a large part of the film market. In response to the boycott for domestic distribution, the "emigrant cinema" (Emigrantenfilm) appears. With the signing of the Rome Protocols (1934), a period of Austrian-Italian co-productions begins, which become the industry’s salvation. Prominent Italian directors Augusto Genina and Carmine Gallone film “Flowers from Nice” and “Thank You, Madame” in Austria.
Gallone is a pioneer of Italian cinema. In the 1910s, he made silent films with the divas Soava Gallone (his wife) and Lida Borelli. The 1926 blockbuster "The Last Days of Pompeii" became a milestone in his early career; for his skill in creating "epics" Gallone would later be called the European DeMille.
To the image of Vienna, Gallone brings Italian authenticity of the image, which since the time of Verism has been based on carefully arranged poverty. The capital, traditionally presented in the "Wiener films" in the form of a holiday city, is shown in his film without a carnival attire. It has unsightly outskirts and neighborhoods destroyed by poverty.
In “Thank You, Madame”, the character of Jan Kiepura, Toni Kowalski, is a small man from a big city, a taxi driver in love with the flower girl Mizzi (the name Mizzi in German-language literature is given to simpletons). The miracle it “fitted” between a sudden downpour and a bowl of soup. Toni walks into a diner for a free lunch, and accidentally participates in a song contest, and conquers everyone with his talent. But Toni Kowalski does not want to be a star. He prefers to drive a taxi, love Mizzi, and sing in front of a street crowd.
This could be a Hollywood “a star is born”-type success story, but Gallone's main plot is Toni Kowalski's departure from the opera stage. Instead of painted sets, there is a real city behind the singer, instead of the front rows of the orchestra, there is a street crowd in front of him. A street triumph organized by taxi drivers who blocked traffic becomes a performance that overshadows the finest hour on stage.
The main character in the film is the city. An opera singer needs a stage, but for an amateur singer a street is enough. This is a rare example of a film with a “Viennese spirit”, filmed on the real streets of Vienna, not on sets. In the crowd, which in "Wiener films" is usually depersonalized, certain types stand out. Old people and children, the poor, and the rich all listen to Kiepura's songs. He sings from the roof of a car and from a boat. His song sounds on the streets and flows down the Danube.
Carmine Gallone was a talented conformist, which allowed him to make almost opposite things equally well. After the film "Thank you, Madame" he made "Scipio the African" ​​(1937), known primarily for the apocryphal phrase allegedly said by the director: "If Duce does not like this film, I will shoot myself". Mussolini did not like it. But Gallone did not shoot himself. After the war, he will supplement his filmography, consisting of dramas featuring divas, musicals, and peplums, with film operas, acquiring the reputation of a European director who could have become a Hollywood one.

Viktoria Elizarova
An ordinary Viennese taxi driver, Toni Kowalski, wanders into a diner, where a singing competition is taking place, and decides to take part in it. He is recognized as a maverick, the owner of an amazing voice, and is awarded the victory in the competition. Toni is patronized by an influential socialite.
SHEDULE

November 21, Sunday
18:00
Opernring / Thank You, Madame (1936)
The film will be screened in the original language with Russian subtitles. 35 mm film.
12+

The film will be presented by film critic Maxim Semyonov.
Illuzion Cinema
Big Hall

November 23, Tuesday
19:45
Opernring / Thank You, Madame (1936)
The film will be screened in the original language with Russian subtitles.
12+
Illuzion Cinema
Small Hall

Made on
Tilda

В СОЛНЕЧНОМ СИЯНИИ / СПАСИБО, МАДАМ / IM SONNENSCHEIN / OPERNRING / THANK YOU, MADAME

Австрия, Gloria-Film, Horus-Film, 1936, 90 минут
Автор сценария: Филипп Лотар Майринг
Режиссёр: Кармине Галлоне
Оператор: Франц Планер
В ролях: Ян Кепура, Фридль Чепа, Лули Десте, Тео Линген, Фриц Имхофф, Антон Пойнтнер
Знак времени: в фильме «Спасибо, мадам» польский тенор Ян Кепура на сцене Венской оперы исполняет арии Джакомо Пуччини на немецком языке. Кинематограф, который недавно заговорил, стал «полиглотом». Но приход звука принёс и серьёзные экономические проблемы. Борьба патентов на звуковые системы была похожа на раздел Европы. Кинематографисты принялись искать новый материал — истории, о которых можно рассказать только на родном языке. В 1933 году Германия начинает бойкотировать фильмы, снятые кинематографистами «неарийского» происхождения. Для страны, где в кинопроизводстве было задействовано много иммигрантов и евреев (достаточно взглянуть на руководство студии Tobis-Sascha), это означало потерю значительной части кинорынка. В ответ на бойкот для внутреннего проката появляется «эмигрантское кино» (Emigrantenfilm). С подписанием Римских протоколов (1934) начинается пора австро-итальянских копродукций, которые становятся спасением. Крупнейшие итальянские режиссёры Августо Дженина и Кармине Галлоне ставят в Австрии «Цветы из Ниццы» и «Спасибо, мадам».
Галлоне — пионер итальянского кинематографа. В 1910-х он снимает немые картины с дивами Соавой Галлоне (его жена) и Лидой Борелли. Вехой в его раннем творчестве становится блокбастер 1926 года «Последние дни Помпеи», за мастерство в создании «колоссов» Галлоне позже назовут европейским ДеМиллем.
В образ Вены Галлоне привносит итальянскую подлинность изображения, которая со времен веризма зиждется на фактурной нищете. Столица, традиционно предстающая в «венских фильмах» в образе города-праздника, в его фильме показывается без карнавального наряда. В ней есть неприглядные окраины и кварталы, разрушенные бедностью.
В «Спасибо, мадам» герой Яна Кепуры Тони Ковальски — маленький человек из большого города, таксист, влюблённый в цветочницу Мицци (имя Мицци в немецкоязычной литературе носят простушки). Чудо «помещается» между внезапным ливнем и тарелкой супа. Тони заходит в закусочную за бесплатным обедом, случайно участвует в песенном конкурсе и покоряет всех своим талантом. Но Тони Ковальски не хочет быть звездой. Он предпочитает водить такси, любить Мицци и петь перед уличной толпой.
Это могла бы быть голливудская история успеха в жанре «звезда родилась», но основой сюжета у Галлоне становится уход Тони Ковальски с оперной сцены. Вместо рисованных декораций за спиной певца настоящий город, вместо партера перед ним уличная толпа. Выступлением, затмевающим звёздный час на сцене, становится уличный триумф, организованный таксистами, перекрывшими движение.
Главный герой в фильме — город. Оперному певцу нужна сцена, певцу-любителю достаточно улицы. Это редкий пример фильма с «венским духом», снятого на настоящих улицах Вены, а не в декорациях. В массовке, которая в «венских фильмах» обычно обезличена, выделяются типажи. Песни Кепуры слушают старики и дети, нищие и богатые. Он поёт, стоя на крыше автомобиля и находясь в лодке. Его песня звучит на улицах и льётся по Дунаю.
Кармине Галлоне был талантливым конформистом, что позволяло ему одинаково хорошо ставить вещи практически противоположные. После фильма «Спасибо, мадам» он снимает «Сципиона африканского» (1937), известного прежде всего апокрифичной фразой, якобы брошенной режиссёром: «Если этот фильм не понравится Дуче, я застрелюсь». Фильм Муссолини не понравился. Однако Галлоне не стал стреляться. Фильмографию, состоящую из драм с дивами, мюзиклов и пеплумов, после войны он пополнит фильмами-операми, прослыв европейским режиссёром, который мог бы стать голливудским.

Виктория Елизарова
старший искусствовед Госфильмофонда России
Обычный венский таксист Тони Ковальски забредает в закусочную, где в это время проходит певческий конкурс, и решает в нём поучаствовать. Он покоряет всех своим уникальным голосом, и влиятельная светская дама берёт шефство над Тони. Музыкальная драма, снятая на улицах Вены.
РАСПИСАНИЕ ПОКАЗОВ

21 ноября, воскресенье
18:00
В солнечном сиянии (1936)
Фильм будет показан на языке оригинала с русскими субтитрами. Плёнка 35 мм.
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Большой зал
Фильм представит киновед Максим Семёнов.

23 ноября, вторник
19:45
В солнечном сиянии (1936)
Фильм будет показан на языке оригинала с русскими субтитрами.
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Малый зал

!
Если вы студент профильного кинематографического вуза или факультета, киноколледжа или киношколы или имеете социальные льготы, пожалуйста, узнайте о специальных условиях в кинотеатре «Иллюзион» и забронируйте билет по телефону (495) 915-43-53. Забрать билет необходимо в кассе не позднее, чем за 30 минут до начала сеанса, предъявив соответствующий подтверждающий документ.
Made on
Tilda