SECRETS
USA, Norma Talmadge per Joseph M. Schenck Productions, 1924, 90 min
The copy was restored by L'Immagine Ritrovata lab with the participation of Gosfilmofond. Copy courtesy of Cineteca di Bologna. DCP
Scriptwriter: Frances Marion
Director: Frank Borzage
Cameraman: Tony Gaudio
Cast: Norma Talmadge, Eugene O'Brien, Patterson Dial, Emily Fitzroy, Claire McDowell, George Nichols, Harvey Clark
Producer Joseph M. Schenk (born Iosif Mikhailovich Sheinker) actively promoted the acting career of his wife, Norma Talmadge. In 1923, he invited a famous director Frank Borzage to make a film with her at United Studios. Borzage, who had begun his career as an actor back in 1912, was a virtuoso master of various genres (incidentally, he later made the famous "Seventh Heaven" (1927) - the first film drama awarded an Academy Award). Previously, these two filmmakers had already tried to work together, but Borzage was at the time forced to bow out due to illness. This time everything worked out.
“Secrets” is an entertaining adaptation of the eponymous play written by Rudolph Besier and May Edginton in 1922. In both USA and Great Britain, it was a resounding success, including among critics. The film became the peak of the career of Norma Talmadge, while Borzage was recognized as a first-rate director. A year later, he made another brilliant film with Talmadge, "The Lady". And in 1933 he directed the sound remake of “Secrets” with Mary Pickford (in her last leading role).
The festival program includes the restored, most complete version of the film. As Mariann Lewinsky explained in the notes to the 2017 catalog of the Il Cinema Ritrovato festival: “The project of restoring “Secrets” was launched by Fondazione Cineteca di Bologna and the Cohen Film Collection in 2015, and, after analysis of the existing elements [(from the Gosfilmofond of Russia, a black and white triacetate intermediate negative of 7 reels was provided for comparison)], three were used for the restoration: the very incomplete negative A from the Mary Pickford Collection in the Library of Congress (reels 1-2-7), the almost complete negative B (decomposed in some parts and with reel 5 in bits and pieces) from the Cohen Film Collection, and a complete, tinted first-generation nitrate print with Czech intertitles (struck from negative B, used for export prints) from MoMA, where it had arrived in the late 1970s from Národní Filmový Archiv in Prague. Comparison revealed that the editing and the shots are the same in both negatives, the difference lies in the quality of the acting. Negative A contains invariably the better take”. (Il Cinema Ritrovato XXXI edizione, 2017. P. 213–214.)

Tamara Shvedyuk
Based on the eponymous play by Rudolph Besier and May Edginton.
Mary Carlton, in her declining years at the bedside of her sick husband, reminisces about her life. Mary married John Carlton against the wishes of her parents. The young couple fled from New England to California, had children, and made a small fortune. More than once they fell into various troubles, became victims of intrigues, but managed to keep their marriage, even despite the secrets that, in reality, almost every family has.

SHEDULE

November 21, Sunday
20:20
Secrets (1924)
The film will be screened in its original language with Russian subtitles.
12+

The film will be presented by art critic of the State Film Fund (Gosfilmofond) Tamara Shvedyuk.
Illuzion Cinema
Big Hall

November 22, Monday
13:20
Secrets (1924)
The film will be screened in its original language with Russian subtitles.
12+

The film will be presented by art critic of the State Film Fund (Gosfilmofond) Tamara Shvedyuk.
Illuzion Cinema
Big Hall
22:15
Secrets (1924)
The film will be screened in its original language with Russian subtitles.
12+
Illuzion Cinema
Small Hall

November 27, Saturday
12:00
Secrets (1924)
The film will be screened in its original language with Russian subtitles.
12+

The film will be presented by art critic of the State Film Fund (Gosfilmofond) Tamara Shvedyuk.
Illuzion Cinema
Big Hall

November 28, Sunday
18:05
Secrets (1924)
The film will be screened in its original language with Russian subtitles.
12+
Illuzion Cinema
Small Hall

Made on
Tilda

СЕКРЕТЫ / SECRETS
США, Norma Talmadge per Joseph M. Schenck Productions, 1924, 90 минут
Копия отреставрирована L’Immagine Ritrovata lab при участии Госфильмофонда. Копия предоставлена Cineteca di Bologna. DCP
Автор сценария: Фрэнсис Марион
Режиссёр: Фрэнк Борзейги
Оператор: Тони Гаудио
В ролях: Норма Толмадж, Юджин О’Брайен, Паттерсон Дайал, Эмили Фицрой, Клэр МакДауэлл, Джордж Николс, Харви Кларк
Продюсер Джозеф М. Шенк (урождённый Иосиф Михайлович Шейнкер) активно продвигал актёрскую карьеру своей жены Нормы Толмадж. В 1923 году он предложил известному режиссёру Фрэнку Борзейги снять с ней фильм на киностудии United Studios. Борзейги, начавший карьеру как актёр еще в 1912 году, виртуозно владел разными жанрами (кстати, впоследствии он снимет знаменитое «Седьмое небо» (1927) — первый драматический фильм, удостоенный премии американской киноакадемии «Оскар»). Ранее эти два мастера кино уже пытались работать вместе, но Борзейги тогда был вынужден уйти из-за болезни. На этот раз всё сложилось.
«Секреты» — увлекательная экранизация одноименной пьесы, написанной Рудольфом Безье и Мэй Эджинтон в 1922 году. И в Соединённых Штатах Америки, и в Великобритании она имела оглушительный успех, в том числе и среди критиков. Фильм стал пиком карьеры актрисы Нормы Толмадж, Борзейги признали первоклассным режиссёром. Годом позже он снял ещё один блистательный фильм с участием Толмадж — «Леди». А в 1933 году стал режиссёром звукового ремейка «Секретов» с Мэри Пикфорд (ее последняя главная роль в кино).
В фестивальную программу вошла отреставрированная, наиболее полная версия фильма. Как поясняется в примечаниях к каталогу фестиваля II Cinema Ritrovato за 2017 год: «Проект реставрации фильма “Секреты” был начат Cineteca di Bologna и Cohen Film Collection в 2015 году. После анализа существующих копий (от Госфильмофонда России для сравнения был предоставлен чёрно-белый триацетатный контратип — 7 частей) использовалось три исходника: частично сохранившийся негатив А из коллекции Мэри Пикфорд, находящейся в Библиотеке Конгресса США в Вашингтоне (1, 2 и 7-я части фильма); негатив Б из Cohen Film Collection, сохранившийся почти полностью, но частично подверженный гидролизу и с фрагментированной 5-й частью; нитропозитив первого поколения, полный, вирированный, с чешскими интертитрами (напечатанный с негатива Б, с которого печатали копии для проката за границу) из Музея современного искусства в Нью-Йорке, куда он поступил в конце 1970-х годов из Народного киноархива Праги. Сравнение показало, что кадры на негативах A и Б идентичны, но негатив A, безусловно, предлагает лучшие дубли по части актёрской игры». (Каталог II Cinema Ritrovato XXXI edizione, 2017. — P. 213–214.)

Тамара Шведюк
старший искусствовед Госфильмофонда России
Мэри Карлтон на склоне лет у постели больного мужа вспоминает свою жизнь. Мэри вышла замуж за Джона Карлтона вопреки воле родителей. Молодые сбежали из Новой Англии в Калифорнию, воспитали детей и сумели сохранить свой брак, несмотря на жизненные трудности. Экранизация одноимённой пьесы Рудольфа Безье и Мэй Эджинтон.
РАСПИСАНИЕ ПОКАЗОВ

21 ноября, воскресенье
20:20
Секреты (1924)
Фильм будет показан на языке оригинала с русскими субтитрами.
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Большой зал
Фильм представит искусствовед Госфильмофонда Тамара Шведюк.


22 ноября, понедельник
13:20
Секреты (1924)
Фильм будет показан на языке оригинала с русскими субтитрами.
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Большой зал
Фильм представит искусствовед Госфильмофонда Тамара Шведюк.

22:15
Секреты (1924)
Фильм будет показан на языке оригинала с русскими субтитрами.
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Малый зал

27 ноября, суббота
12:00
Секреты (1924)
Фильм будет показан на языке оригинала с русскими субтитрами.
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Большой зал
Фильм представит искусствовед Госфильмофонда Тамара Шведюк.


28 ноября, воскресенье
18:05
Секреты (1924)
Фильм будет показан на языке оригинала с русскими субтитрами.
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Малый зал

!
Если вы студент профильного кинематографического вуза или факультета, киноколледжа или киношколы или имеете социальные льготы, пожалуйста, узнайте о специальных условиях в кинотеатре «Иллюзион» и забронируйте билет по телефону (495) 915-43-53. Забрать билет необходимо в кассе не позднее, чем за 30 минут до начала сеанса, предъявив соответствующий подтверждающий документ.
Made on
Tilda