PLAYING AT LOVE/ LIEBELEI
Germany, Elite Tonfilm-Produktion GmbH, 1933, 85 minutes
Scriptwriters: Hans Wilhelm, Curt Alexander, Max Ophüls
Director: Max Ophüls
Director of photography: Franz Planer
Production designer: Gabriel Pellon
Composer: Theo Mackeben
Cast: Magda Schneider, Wolfgang Liebeneiner, Carl Esmond, Luise Ullrich, Olga Tschechowa, Gustaf Gründgens Paigers, Paul Hörbirger, Paul Otto, Werner Finck, Werner Pledath
Max Ophüls completed work on "Playing at Love" in the turning year of 1933: the year Hitler came to power. The film could be released on one condition: the names of all Jews, including the director Max Ophüls and the author of the play, Arthur Schnitzler, had to be cut from the credits. Two weeks after the Berlin premiere, Max Ophüls, born Maximilian Oppenheimer, left Germany with his family. Like his colleague Fritz Lang, he was one of the last ones to leave the country.
"Playing at Love" was overshadowed by a less successful French version of the film called "Love Story" (Une histoire d'amour, 1933), which was released in France in 1934. The German-language "Playing at Love", a true masterpiece of early sound cinema, found a second life after the first retrospective of the director at the French Cinematheque in 1958 and due to the efforts of the critics of the French magazine “Cahiers du Cinéma”, who had placed Ophüls’ late baroque films “Le Plaisir” (1952) and “Lola Montès” (1955) as high as the work of Jean Renoir, Howard Hawks, and Alfred Hitchcock. (Retrospective Max Ophüls // Cahiers du cinéma. 1958. 81. P. 20.)
Later Stanley Kubrick admired the virtuoso panoramas in Ophüls' films, naming “La Ronde” (1950) as a significant film for himself.
Of all Ophüls’ filmography, “Playing at Love” is the most restrained film. The play by Arthur Schnitzler, a representative of the literary circle “Young Vienna”, is a passionate Viennese vaudeville built around social conflict and cynical attitudes. Ophüls, on his part, explores the world of deep feelings, the territory of the emotions of a great love. Schnitzler glorified Vienna and created an artistic image of the city comparable in its power to the Paris of Honoré de Balzac and Emile Zola, and to the London of Charles Dickens. Following Schnitzler, Ophüls creates a screen Vienna.
Much later, during the filming of “Carousel” in 1950, Max Ophüls remarked in an interview with a French journalist that the Austrians should have erected a monument to him on the Ringstrasse, since he had immortalized their city in the most beautiful films. Indeed, many contemporaries considered him the best Viennese director and a specialist in “Viennese charm”. In fact, Ophüls was not a Viennese. (Seibel A. Visions of Vienna: Narrating the City in 1920s and 1930s Cinema. Amsterdam University Press. 2017. P. 76.). He was born on the border between Germany and France in the city of Saarbrücken. At least two important events connected him to the Austrian capital. In 1925, he became the director of the Vienna Burgtheater (the youngest one: he was 23 years old at the time) and worked there for a couple of years, and in 1925 in Vienna, the actress Hilde Wall became his wife.
Ophüls indeed often chose Vienna as the setting for his films. In 1948, in the US, he made "A Letter from an Unknown Woman" based on a work by Stefan Zweig. Two years later, on his return to Paris, he again made an adaptation of Arthur Schnitzler, this time the play “La Ronde". But even when the stories of Ophüls are set in other cities, they still resemble the imaginary Vienna of the turn of the century.
It had been planned that "Playing at Love" would be filmed in Vienna, but the budget of the film was not enough for location shooting and the city was built in the studio in Johannisthal near Berlin. Still, “Playing at Love” is the most Viennese of all his films, and here is why. Ophüls cast Austrian actors Paul Hörbirger and Luise Ullrich in the film, and together with them brought the recognizable Viennese accent cultivated at the Burgtheater into the film. It is more sensuous and pleasant to the ear. When choosing actors, Ophüls, who paid great attention to sound in films, was always guided by his impressions of their voices (Seibel A. Visions of Vienna: Narrating the City in 1920s and 1930s Cinema. Amsterdam University Press. 2017. P. 76.)
Ophüls earned a reputation as an international filmmaker with his successful work in France, the Netherlands, Italy, and the US. After 1933 he did not direct a single film in Germany. In the last German film by Ophüls, one of the characters utters words that were important for the director: "Every shot not dictated by self-defense is a murder!" This phrase was not in Schnitzler’s play.

Alisa Nasrtdinova
Based on the eponymous play by Arthur Schnitzler.
Lieutenant Fritz Lobheimer has an affair with the married Baroness von Eggersdorff. He is bored with it and tries to break off the relationship. One evening Fritz meets a young Viennese named Christine, with whom he truly falls in love. But their happiness is not to be: Fritz is challenged to a duel by the cuckolded husband. It is a matter of honor to accept the challenge.
SHEDULE

November 20, Saturday
18:40
Playing at Love (1932)
The film will be screened in its original language with Russian subtitles.
12+

The film will be presented by art critic of the State Film Fund (Gosfilmofond) Alisa Nasrtdinova.
Illuzion Cinema
Big Hall

November 23, Tuesday
17:50
Playing at Love (1932)
The film will be screened in its original language with Russian subtitles.
12+
Illuzion Cinema
Small Hall

Made on
Tilda

ФЛИРТ / LIEBELEI
Германия, Elite Tonfilm-Produktion GmbH, 1933, 85 минут
Авторы сценария: Ганс Вильгельм, Курт Александр, Макс Офюльс
Режиссёр: Макс Офюльс
Оператор: Франц Планер
Художник: Габриэль Пеллон
Композитор: Тео Макебен
В ролях: Магда Шнайдер, Вольфганг Либенайнер, Карл Эсмонд, Луиза Ульрих, Ольга Чехова, Густав Грюндгенс, Пауль Хербиргер, Пол Отто, Вернер Финк, Вернер Пледат
Макс Офюльс завершил работу над «Флиртом» в переломный 1933-й — год прихода к власти Гитлера. На экраны фильм мог попасть при одном условии: из титров должны быть вырезаны имена всех евреев, в том числе режиссёра Макса Офюльса и автора пьесы Артура Шницлера. Через две недели после берлинской премьеры Макс Офюльс, урождённый Максимилиан Оппенхаймер, вместе с семьёй покидает Германию. Как и его коллега Фриц Ланг, он уезжает из страны одним из последних.
«Флирт» остался в тени менее удачной франкоязычной версии фильма под названием «История любви» (Une histoire d’amour, 1933), которая вышла во Франции в 1934 году. Немецкоязычный «Флирт», подлинный шедевр раннего звукового кино, обрёл вторую жизнь после первой ретроспективы режиссёра во Французской синематеке в 1958 году и благодаря усилиям критиков французского журнала Cahiers du Cinéma, которые ценили поздние барочные фильмы Офюльса «Удовольствие» (1952) и «Лола Монтес» (1955) столь же высоко, как и работы Жана Ренуара, Говарда Хоукса и Альфреда Хичкока. (Retrospective Max Ophüls // Cahiers du Cinéma .— 1958.— No 81.— P. 20.) Позже виртуозными панорамами в фильмах Офюльса восхищался Стенли Кубрик, называя «Карусель» (1950) значимым для себя фильмом.
Из всей фильмографии Офюльса «Флирт» — самый сдержанный фильм. Пьеса Артура Шницлера, представителя литературного объединения «Молодая Вена», — это жестокий венский водевиль, выстроенный вокруг социального конфликта и циничных отношений. Офюльс же исследует мир глубоких чувств, территорию эмоций великой любви. Шницлер воспел Вену и создал художественный образ города, по силе сравнимый с Парижем Оноре де Бальзака и Эмиля Золя, с Лондоном Чарльза Диккенса. Следом за Шницлером Офюльс создаёт экранную Вену.
Много позже, во время съёмок «Карусели», в 1950 году, Макс Офюльс заметил в интервью французскому журналисту, что австрийцы должны были бы поставить ему памятник на Рингштрассе, поскольку он увековечил их город в самых красивых фильмах. Действительно, многие современники считали его лучшим венским режиссёром и специалистом «по венскому шарму». На самом деле Офюльс не был венцем. (Seibel A. Visions of Vienna: Narrating the City in 1920s and 1930s Cinema / A. Seibel.— Amsterdam University Press, 2017.— P. 76.) Он родился на границе между Германией и Францией в городе Саарбрюккене. Со столицей Австрии его связывали как минимум два важных события. В 1925 году он стал режиссёром венского Бургтеатра (самым молодым, на тот момент ему было 23 года) и проработал там пару лет, в 1925-м в Вене стала его женой актриса Хильде Валль.
Офюльс действительно часто выбирал именно Вену местом действия своих фильмов. В 1948 году в Америке он ставит «Письмо незнакомки» по Стефану Цвейгу. Два года спустя, по возвращении в Париж, вновь экранизирует Артура Шницлера, на этот раз пьесу «Карусель». Впрочем, когда истории Офюльса в других городах, они всё равно напоминают воображаемую Вену рубежа веков.
Предполагалось, что «Флирт» будет снят как раз в Вене, однако бюджета картины не хватило на выездные съёмки, и город построили в павильонах в Йоханнистале под Берлином. Тем не менее «Флирт» — наиболее венская из всех его картин, и вот почему. К съёмкам Офюльс привлёк австрийских артистов Пауля Хербиргера и Луизу Ульрих и вместе с ними привнёс в фильм узнаваемый венский акцент, культивировавшийся в Бургтеатре. На слух он более чувственный и приятный. При выборе актёров Офюльс, уделявший большое внимание звуку в кино, всегда руководствовался своими впечатлениями от их голосов. (Seibel A. Visions of Vienna…— P. 76.)
Офюльс снискал себе славу как интернациональный режиссёр, успешно поработавший во Франции, Нидерландах, Италии и США. После 1933 года он не поставил в Германии ни одного фильма. В последней немецкой картине Офюльса один из героев произносит важные для режиссёра слова: «Каждый выстрел, продиктованный не самообороной, — это убийство!» В пьесе Шницлера этой реплики не было.

Алиса Насртдинова
программный директор фестиваля
Лейтенант Фриц Лобхаймер пытается разорвать свои отношения с замужней баронессой фон Эггерсдорф. В один из вечеров он знакомится с молодой венкой Кристиной и влюбляется в неё. Муж-рогоносец узнает о прошлых изменах и вызывает лейтенанта на дуэль. Романтическая драма по одноименной пьесе Артура Шницлера.
РАСПИСАНИЕ ПОКАЗОВ

20 ноября, суббота
18:40
Флирт (1932)
Фильм будет показан на языке оригинала с русскими субтитрами.
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Большой зал
Фильм представит искусствовед Госфильмофонда Алиса Насртдинова.

23 ноября, вторник
17:50
Флирт (1932)
Фильм будет показан на языке оригинала с русскими субтитрами.
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Малый зал

!
Если вы студент профильного кинематографического вуза или факультета, киноколледжа или киношколы или имеете социальные льготы, пожалуйста, узнайте о специальных условиях в кинотеатре «Иллюзион» и забронируйте билет по телефону (495) 915-43-53. Забрать билет необходимо в кассе не позднее, чем за 30 минут до начала сеанса, предъявив соответствующий подтверждающий документ.
Made on
Tilda