JERUSALEM DELIVERED /
LA GERUSALEMME LIBERATA
(pre-revolutionary Russian release title: "The Struggle of the Nations" / “Bor'ba narodov”)
Italy, Cines (the Princeps series), 1911, 25 minutes
Reconstructed and restored by Gosfilmofond. DCP
Scriptwriter and director: Enrico Guazzoni
Director of photography: Alessandro Bona
Production designer: Francesco Ronsetti
Cast: Amleto Novelli (Tancred), Carlo Cattaneo (Godfrey of Bouillon), Emilio Ghione (Rinaldo), Gianna Terribili-Gonzalez (Clorinda), Fernanda Negri Pouget (Armida), Cesare Moltini (Aladine); Alfredo Bracci
In the history of Italian silent cinema, “Jerusalem Delivered” has the same significance as “L’Inferno” (released the same year), “Que Vadis?”, and “Cabiria”. The only difference is that “Jerusalem Delivered” (1911) has been considered lost.
Since the early 1910s, the Italian film industry was experiencing an extraordinary boom. From one film to another, their budget and scope increased, their plots became more complicated, and therefore the duration of the picture grew. So it is unsurprising that the country’s largest film studio, Cines, chose Tasso's main work for its first film in the Princeps series: a series of big-budget, large-scale film, often based on classic historical or literary works. Both this and the 1918 version of “Jerusalem Delivered” (which the Gosfilmofond copy of the 1911 film until recently had been thought to be) was made by a leading director of Italian cinema, Enrico Guazzoni. The film was shot in five months (which is inconceivably long for that time), up to 800 people took part in it, and, for the first time for the studio, its length amounted to four reels. "Jerusalem Delivered" immediately was a resounding success both nationally and internationally. According to Italian historians Aldo Bernardini and Vittorio Martinelli, in September 1912, Pathé Fréres studio rushed to release its Pathécolor film version based on Tasso’s plot, with actors from the Comédie-Française and mime Paul Franck (there is no documentary evidence of this information). By the way, this is not the first screen adaptation of the poem by a French film studio - in 1910, director Camille de Morlhon made "The Tyrant of Jerusalem".
"Jerusalem Delivered" entered the Gosfilmofond collection from the All-Union Institute of Cinematography (VGIK) in the 1950s. A safe stock triacetate black and white intermediate negative was printed from the acquired nitrate positive copy and scanned at 2K. Basic stabilization, cleaning, and flicker elimination work has been done. Of the four original parts of the film, the first and third one have survived. The contents of the missing parts have been filled in thanks to the preserved original intertitle list and photographs.

Tamara Shvedyuk

Based on Torquato Tasso’s poem “Jerusalem Delivered”. Christian ruler Godfrey of Bouillon and his allies embark on the First Crusade to the walls of Jerusalem.
SHEDULE

November 17, Wednesday
16:30
Judith and Holofernes (1909)
Torquato Tasso (1909)
Torquato Tasso (1914)
Jerusalem Delivered (1911)
12+

The films will be presented by art critic of the State Film Fund (Gosfilmofond) Tamara Shvedyuk.
Video message from Federico Striuli, silent film historian, curator, PhD.
Illuzion Cinema
Big Hall

November 18, Thursday
19:35
Judith and Holofernes (1909)
Torquato Tasso (1909)
Torquato Tasso (1914)
Jerusalem Delivered (1911)
12+

Video message from Federico Striuli, silent film historian, curator, PhD.
Illuzion Cinema
Small Hall

November 26, Friday
15:15
Judith and Holofernes (1909)
Torquato Tasso (1909)
Torquato Tasso (1914)
Jerusalem Delivered (1911)
12+

The films will be presented by art critic of the State Film Fund (Gosfilmofond) Tamara Shvedyuk.
Video message from Federico Striuli, silent film historian, curator, PhD.
Illuzion Cinema
Big Hall

November 28, Sunday
22:15
Judith and Holofernes (1909)
Torquato Tasso (1909)
Torquato Tasso (1914)
Jerusalem Delivered (1911)
12+

Video message from Federico Striuli, silent film historian, curator, PhD.
Illuzion Cinema
Small Hall

Made on
Tilda

ОСВОБОЖДЁННЫЙ ИЕРУСАЛИМ /
LA GERUSALEMME LIBERATA
(в дореволюционном прокате — «Борьба народов»)
Италия, Cines (Princeps series), 1911, 25 минут
Реконструкция и реставрация Госфильмофонда. DCP
Автор сценария и режиссёр: Энрико Гуаццони
Оператор: Алессандро Бона
Художник: Франческо Ронсетти
В ролях: Амлето Новелли, Карло Каттанео, Эмилио Гионе, Джанна Террибили-Гонсалес, Фернанда Негри-Пуже, Чезаре Молтини, Альфредо Браччи
В истории итальянского немого кино «Освобождённый Иерусалим» имеет такое же значение, как «Ад» (выпущенный в том же году), «Камо грядеши?» и «Кабирия». С той лишь разницей, что «Освобождённый Иерусалим» 1911 года считался утраченным. Итальянская кинопромышленность с начала десятых годов испытывала чрезвычайный подъём. От фильма к фильму увеличивались бюджет и размах, усложнялся сюжет, а значит, и продолжительность картины. И неудивительно, что крупнейшая киностудия страны Cines выбрала главное произведение Тассо для своего первого фильма из серии Princeps — крупнобюджетных масштабных полотен, часто на основе классических исторических или литературных произведений. И эту, и версию «Освобождённого Иерусалима» 1918 года (за которую до недавнего времени принимали хранящуюся в Госфильмофонде копию 1911 года) поставил ведущий режиссёр итальянского кинематографа Энрико Гуаццони. Фильм снимали пять месяцев (что немыслимо долго для тех лет), в нём принимало участие до 800 человек, метраж впервые для киностудии составлял четыре бобины. «Освобождённый Иерусалим» сразу прогремел как на национальном, так и на международном уровне. По словам итальянских историков Альдо Бернардини и Витторио Мартинелли, в сентябре 1912 года студия Pathé Fréres поспешила выпустить свою картину на сюжет Торквато Тассо, окрашенную в технике Pathecolor, с актёрами из Комеди Франсез и мимом Полем Франком (документального подтверждения этой информации нет). Кстати, это не первая экранизация поэмы французской киностудией: в 1910 году режиссёр Камилло де Морлон снял «Тирана Иерусалима».
«Освобождённый Иерусалим» поступил в коллекцию Госфильмофонда из ВГИКа в 1950-х. С полученного нитропозитива был напечатан безопасный триацетатный чёрно-белый контратип, который был отсканирован в формате 2K. Были выполнены основные работы по стабилизации, очистке и устранению мерцания. Из четырёх оригинальных частей фильма сохранились первая и третья. Содержание недостающих частей было восполнено благодаря сохранившимся оригинальному списку интертитров и фотографиям.

Тамара Шведюк
старший искусствовед Госфильмофонда России
Готфрид Бульонский и его союзники отправляются в Первый крестовый поход к стенам Иерусалима. Считавшаяся утраченной масштабная экранизация поэмы Торквато Тассо «Освобождённый Иерусалим».
РАСПИСАНИЕ ПОКАЗОВ

17 ноября, среда
16:30
Юдифь и Олоферн (1909)
Торквато Тассо (1909)
Торквато Тассо (1914)
Освобождённый Иерусалим (1911)
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Большой зал
Фильмы представит искусствовед Госфильмофонда Тамара Шведюк.
Видеообращение Федерико Стриули, историка немого кино, куратора, доктора философии (PhD).

18 ноября, четверг
19:35
Юдифь и Олоферн (1909)
Торквато Тассо (1909)
Торквато Тассо (1914)
Освобождённый Иерусалим (1911)
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Малый зал
Видеообращение Федерико Стриули, историка немого кино, куратора, доктора философии (PhD).

26 ноября, пятница
15:15
Юдифь и Олоферн (1909)
Торквато Тассо (1909)
Торквато Тассо (1914)
Освобождённый Иерусалим (1911)
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Большой зал
Фильмы представит искусствовед Госфильмофонда Тамара Шведюк.
Видеообращение Федерико Стриули, историка немого кино, куратора, доктора философии (PhD).

28 ноября, воскресенье
22:15
Юдифь и Олоферн (1909)
Торквато Тассо (1909)
Торквато Тассо (1914)
Освобождённый Иерусалим (1911)
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Малый зал
Видеообращение Федерико Стриули, историка немого кино, куратора, доктора философии (PhD).

!
Если вы студент профильного кинематографического вуза или факультета, киноколледжа или киношколы или имеете социальные льготы, пожалуйста, узнайте о специальных условиях в кинотеатре «Иллюзион» и забронируйте билет по телефону (495) 915-43-53. Забрать билет необходимо в кассе не позднее, чем за 30 минут до начала сеанса, предъявив соответствующий подтверждающий документ.
Made on
Tilda