MAD LOVE / L'AMOR BRAQUE
France, Sara films, 1984, 103 minutes

Scriptwriters: Étienne Roda-Gil, Andrzej Żuławski
Director: Andrzej Żuławski
Composer: Stanislas Syrevicz
Production designer: Dominique André
Costume designer: Olga Pelletier
Cast: Francis Huster, Sophie Marceau, Tchéky Karyo, Christiane Jean, Michel Albertini, Pauline Lafont, Alain Flick
Having warmed up doing his first French film "The Public Woman" (1984), where the plot centered on the shooting of a picture based on Dostoevsky's "The Demons", the next year Andrzej Żuławski took up an actual adaptation of the classical Russian writer. However, one needs to clarify right away: only the love triangle of Prince Myshkin, Porfiry Rogozhin, and Nastasya Filippovna, who changed their names to Léon, Micky, and Marie, respectively, and moved to Paris of the 1980s, remained from the novel “The Idiot". Stylistically close to the “cinema du look” (“Diva” by Jean-Jacques Beineix (1981), “Subway” by Luc Besson (1985), “Bad Blood” by Leos Carax (1986)), the film was nevertheless made in the unique frenzied and frantic manner of Żuławski.
Francis Huster, who played the tyrant director in “The Public Woman”, has a seizure every five minutes of screen time; however, the rest of the heroes keep up with him. Tchéky Karyo is a villainous caricature. Eighteen-year-old Sophie Marceau, the director's mistress, who was 26 years her senior, strips naked, cries, and rolls her eyes madly in the best traditions of Isabelle Adjani in “Possession” (1981). The rest of the actors enliven the background of the film with a series of grotesque grimaces and wild pirouettes, deafening laughter and gnashing of teeth.
Physiology was always important to Żuławski. If in the novel Rogozhin burned with a completely carnal passion for Nastasya Filippovna, then the idiot prince saw behind her desecrated beauty the bright ideal of a saint. In “Mad Love”, Léon-Myshkin is able to love Marie-Nastasya Filippovna not only platonically. At the same time, he is ready to endure any humiliation from her, and having lost his virginity, at the time of ejaculation, he thinks he is bleeding, that is, he actually changes places with a woman. In general, fluids and bodily discharges take up a lot of space in the film: saliva (at some point Léon spits into the camera), urine (he also relieves himself on a leg of one of the bandits), semen, blood, wine, rain. This fluidity has something of alchemy with its striving to transform matter and bring it to a state of perfection, to master the highest suprasensible knowledge. Occultism and shamanic practices interested Żuławski to a no lesser extent than the mystery of the female nature. The same themes are raised in "She-Shaman" (1996), and, of course, in "Possession" (1981), but it was in "Mad Love" that Dostoevsky's figure seemed to give the director carte blanche - the opportunity to rush at full steam and not stop, to give a monologue without stopping for breaths to the accompaniment of the 80s electric beat of Stanislas Syrevicz.
The film is noticeably exhausting with its continuous hysteria, editing and rhythm, but at the same time it strikes the imagination with its inventiveness and ingenuity. At the same time, one should not forget about the author’s peculiar sense of humor, close to slapstick, and about the abundance of implicit film quotes. For example, the inserted story of Marie's revenge on her mother's lovers, constant gunfights and car bombings refer to the classics of the Italian Eurocrime of the 1970s, and the recording on an old videotape in a case of "Gone with the Wind" resembles the scene of the invasion of a strange house from "A Clockwork Orange". Micky himself, with his gang of grimacing scum, is quite close to Alex and his droogs: the only things missing are bowler hats and codpieces. And the final carnage would have looked quite appropriate in a film by Sam Peckinpah. In this mixture of genre, as in an alchemical crucible, an amazing homunculus is born, the "Down House" of the arthouse, the mutated "Idiot", which may well offend the admires of the classics, but will remain in the hearts of fans of the bold iconoclast cinema.

Dmitry Karpyuk
Based on the novel "The Idiot" by Fyodor Dostoevsky.
Immediately after a bank robbery, the leader of a band of gangsters Micky takes a train to Paris with his accomplices. On the way, he meets the eccentric Léon and invites him to spend time in his jolly crowd. Their mutual liking is spoiled by the appearance of Marie, Micky's girl, with whom Léon immediately falls in love. The resulting love triangle will lead all three to a tragic ending.

SHEDULE

November 17, Wednesday
19:30
Mad Love (1985)
The film will be screened in its original language with Russian subtitles. Film 35 mm.
18+

The film will be presented by film critic Stanislav Rostotsky.
Illuzion Cinema
Big Hall

Made on
Tilda

ШАЛЬНАЯ ЛЮБОВЬ / L’AMOUR BRAQUE
Франция, Sara films, 1984, 35 мм, 103 минуты
Авторы сценария: Этьен Рода-Жиль, Анджей Жулавски
Режиссёр: Анджей Жулавски
Композитор: Станислас Сиревич
Художник: Доминик Андре
Художник по костюмам: Ольга Пеллетье
В ролях: Франсис Юстер, Софи Марсо, Чеки Карио, Жан Кристиан, Мишель Альбертини, Попин Лафон, Ален Флик
Размявшись на своём первом французском фильме «Публичная женщина» (1984), где в центре сюжета были съёмки картины по «Бесам» Достоевского, на следующий год Анджей Жулавски взялся непосредственно за экранизацию русского классика. Впрочем, нужно сразу оговориться: от романа «Идиот» здесь остался только любовный треугольник князя Мышкина, Порфирия Рогожина и Настасьи Филипповны, которые сменили имена соответственно на Леона, Микки и Мари и перенеслись в Париж 1980-х. Стилистически близкая к cinema du look («Дива» Жан-Жака Бенекса (1981), «Подземка» Люка Бессона (1985), «Дурная кровь» Леоса Каракса (1986)) картина всё же снята в уникальной исступлённо-неистовой манере Жулавски.
Франсис Юстер, сыгравший режиссёра-тирана в «Публичной женщине», бьётся в припадке каждые пять минут экранного времени; впрочем, от него не отстают и остальные герои. Злодейски карикатурен Чеки Карио. Восемнадцатилетняя Софи Марсо, любовница режиссёра, который был старше ее на 26 лет, обнажается, рыдает и безумно вращает глазами в лучших традициях Изабель Аджани в «Одержимости» (1981). Остальные актёры оживляют второй план фильма при помощи череды гротескных гримас и диких пируэтов, оглушительного хохота и зубовного скрежета.
Физиология всегда была важна для Жулавски. Если в романе Рогожин пылал к Настасье Филипповне вполне плотской страстью, то князь-идиот видел за её поруганной красотой светлый идеал святой. В «Шальной любви» Леон-Мышкин оказывается способен любить Мари — Настасью Филипповну отнюдь не только платонически. При этом он готов терпеть от неё любые унижения, а, лишившись девственности, в момент эякуляции решает, что у него пошла кровь, то есть фактически меняется местами с женщиной. Жидкости и телесные выделения вообще занимают в фильме много места: слюна (в какой-то момент Леон плюёт в камеру), моча (он же справил нужду на ногу одного из бандитов), сперма, кровь, вино, дождь. В этой текучести есть что-то от алхимии, с её стремлением преобразовать материю и привести её в состояние совершенства, овладеть высшим сверхчувственным знанием. Оккультизм и шаманские практики интересовали Жулавски не меньше, чем тайна женской природы. Те же темы поднимаются и в «Шаманке» (1996), и, конечно, в «Одержимости» (1981), но именно в «Шальной любви» фигура Достоевского словно дала режиссёру карт-бланш — возможность мчать на всех парах и не останавливаться, вести монолог без вдохов под восьмидесятнический электробит Станисласа Сиревича.
Фильм ощутимо изматывает непрерывной истерикой, монтажом и ритмом, но в то же время поражает воображение фантазией и изобретательностью. При этом не стоит забывать и о своеобразном чувстве юмора автора, близком к слэпстику, и об обилии неявных киноцитат. К примеру, вставная история мести Мари любовникам своей матери, постоянные перестрелки и взрывы автомобилей отсылают к классике итальянского еврокрайма 1970-х, а запись на старой видеокассете в футляре «Унесённых ветром» напоминает сцену вторжения в чужой дом из «Заводного апельсина». Да и Микки со своей бандой кривляющихся подонков вполне близок к Алексу и его droog’ам — не хватает только котелков и гульфиков. Финальная же бойня смотрелась бы вполне уместно в фильме Сэма Пекинпа. В этом жанровом смешении как в алхимическом тигле рождается удивительный гомункул, «Даун Хаус» артхауса, мутировавший «Идиот», который вполне может оскорбить поклонников классики, но останется в сердцах любителей смелого бунтарского кино.

Дмитрий Карпюк
кинокритик
Сразу после ограбления банка лидер банды гангстеров Микки садится со своими подельниками на поезд до Парижа. В пути он знакомится с чудаковатым Леоном и предлагает ему провести время в его весёлой компании. Их взаимное расположение портит появление Мари, пассии Микки, в которую Леон тут же влюбляется. Эксцентричная экранизация романа «Идиот» Фёдора Достоевского.
РАСПИСАНИЕ ПОКАЗОВ

17 ноября, среда
19:30
Шальная любовь (1984)
Фильм будет показан на языке оригинала с русскими субтитрами. Плёнка 35 мм.
18+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Большой зал
Фильм представит кинокритик Станислав Ростоцкий.

!
Если вы студент профильного кинематографического вуза или факультета, киноколледжа или киношколы или имеете социальные льготы, пожалуйста, узнайте о специальных условиях в кинотеатре «Иллюзион» и забронируйте билет по телефону (495) 915-43-53. Забрать билет необходимо в кассе не позднее, чем за 30 минут до начала сеанса, предъявив соответствующий подтверждающий документ.
Made on
Tilda