JUDITH AND HOLOFERNES
/ JUDITH ET HOLOPHERNE
(Russian pre-revolutionary release title: "Judith"/ Iudif')
France, Société des Etablissements L. Gaumont, 1909, 17 minutes
Restored by Gosfilmofond. DCP
Director: Louis Feuillade
Cast: Renée Carl (Judith); Léonce Perret, Maurice Vinot, Christiane Mandelys, Alice Tissot

“Judith and Holofernes” was released by the French film studio Gaumont on June 14, 1909, just seven months after the premiere of “The Assassination of the Duke of Guise”, the first film by the French film studio Film d'Art, whose name gave rise to the concept of "khudozhestvenny fil’m" [“art/fiction film” in Russian]). "Judith and Holofernes" is a masterly work of exceptional complexity.
The journalist of the American newspaper “The Moving Picture World” left an exhaustive review: “It is the finest production ever shown on a screen, and I can safely say that no one can recall a picture so true and correct in details, so rich in settings and costumes, so beautiful in colors, so fine in photography and so cleverly produced and acted. "Judith" is certainly a revelation of what cinematography has in store for us. It is impossible to give a description of this coming film, as the pen cannot convey to the mind the impressions left after viewing the picture on the screen. The very few persons present at the advance exhibition were spellbound with admiration and all that they could say would be an exclamation of “Admirable!”” (Ruth T., Quality vs. Quantity: As Viewed by an Exchange Proprietor // The Moving Picture World. 1910, 9 April. P. 551, 552.)
The film has not been forgotten by film historians. It is included in the filmographies of Gaumont, Louis Feuillade, actors Renée Carl and Léonce Perret. Its mentions and often full-fledged studies of it can be found in the publications on the history of cinema. But only a few have ever seen this film, and solely thanks to the partially preserved and very worn-out nitrate positive print, which is located at the British Film Institute in London (previously, this copy belonged to the Joye Collection in Switzerland, many frames in it were missing).
In 2020, the film was practically reborn: another copy of “Judith and Holofernes” was identified at the State Film Fund of Russia (Gosfilmofond). The impeccably preserved colored nitrate positive print had belonged to Sergey Ivanovich Osipov and was transferred to Gosfilmofond in 1967. Osipov, a pre-revolutionary distributor and owner of several Moscow film theaters, for some time was a partner of the largest Russian film company “P. Thiemann, F. Reinhardt, and S. Osipov ". Little is known about Osipov himself: even his relatives were unaware of the film past of their grandfather and great-grandfather.
This copy is extremely valuable for several reasons. First of all, because it is a “first generation” copy, that is, printed directly from the original negative. This method was widespread only in the early period of silent cinema and provided the highest possible image quality (later, an intermediate negative print was usually used as a source for printing positive copies). Secondly, this copy is practically intact: there are no traces of deterioration, hydrolysis or even the slightest wear of the film base. Thirdly, three coloring techniques were used in the film at once: tinting, toning, and stenciling (with the latter method, the color was applied manually to each frame). And, finally, this copy is as complete as possible, with the only caveat: the pre-revolutionary Russian intertitles are very simplified in comparison with the poetic intertitles of the British Film Institute copy.
The film was scanned at 2K; it was stabilized and cleaned, and the flickering effect removed. Particular attention was paid to matching the colors of the original material with the scanned one to ensure the most accurate color reproduction of the digitally restored film copy.
The premiere of "Judith and Holofernes" is a long-awaited event among archivists. The picture has already been requested to be shown by the world’s leading cinematheques.

Tamara Shvedyuk

A screen version of the Old Testament story about Judith who saved her hometown from enemy invasion. The hand-colored film has been carefully restored by the Gosfilmofond technicians.
SHEDULE

November 17, Wednesday
16:30
Judith and Holofernes (1909)
Torquato Tasso (1909)
Torquato Tasso (1914)
Jerusalem Delivered (1911)
12+

The films will be presented by art critic of the State Film Fund (Gosfilmofond) Tamara Shvedyuk.
Video message from Federico Striuli, silent film historian, curator, PhD.
Illuzion Cinema
Big Hall

November 18, Thursday
19:35
Judith and Holofernes (1909)
Torquato Tasso (1909)
Torquato Tasso (1914)
Jerusalem Delivered (1911)
12+

Video message from Federico Striuli, silent film historian, curator, PhD.
Illuzion Cinema
Small Hall

November 26, Friday
15:15
Judith and Holofernes (1909)
Torquato Tasso (1909)
Torquato Tasso (1914)
Jerusalem Delivered (1911)
12+

The films will be presented by art critic of the State Film Fund (Gosfilmofond) Tamara Shvedyuk.
Video message from Federico Striuli, silent film historian, curator, PhD.
Illuzion Cinema
Big Hall

November 28, Sunday
22:15
Judith and Holofernes (1909)
Torquato Tasso (1909)
Torquato Tasso (1914)
Jerusalem Delivered (1911)
12+

Video message from Federico Striuli, silent film historian, curator, PhD.
Illuzion Cinema
Small Hall

Made on
Tilda

ЮДИФЬ И ОЛОФЕРН / JUDITH ET HOLOPHERNE
(в дореволюционном прокате «Юдифь»)
Франция, Société des Etablissements L. Gaumont, 1909, 17 минут
Реставрация Госфильмофонда. DCP
Режиссёр: Луи Фейад
В ролях: Рене Карл (Юдифь), Леонс Перре, Морис Вино, Кристиан Мандели, Алис Тиссо
Фильм «Юдифь и Олоферн» был выпущен французской киностудией Gaumont 14 июня 1909 года, всего через семь месяцев после премьеры «Убийства герцога Гиза» — первого фильма французской киностудии Film d’Art, название которой положило начало понятию «художественный фильм». «Юдифь и Олоферн» — это исключительная по сложности филигранная работа. Исчерпывающий отзыв о ней оставил журналист американской газеты The Moving Picture World: «Это лучший фильм, когда-либо демонстрируемый на экране, и я могу с уверенностью сказать, что никто не сможет вспомнить картину, в такой мере подлинную и точную деталями, настолько богатую декорациями и костюмами, столь прекрасную по цветам, так умело снятую и так умно сделанную и сыгранную. “Юдифь”, безусловно, является откровением о том, что нам приготовила кинематография. Дать описание предстоящего фильма невозможно, потому что перо не может передать в уме впечатления от увиденного на экране. Те немногие присутствовавшие на предварительном показе были заворожены, и всё, что они могли сказать, было восклицанием “Восхитительно!”». (Ruth T. Quality vs. Quantity: As Viewed by an Exchange Proprietor / T. Ruth // The Moving Picture World.— 1910.— 9 April.— P. 551–552).
Фильм не был забыт историками кино. Он включается в фильмографии студии Gaumont, Луи Фейада, актёров Рене Карл и Леонса Перре. Упоминания, а зачастую и полноценные исследования встречаются в литературе по истории кино. Но лишь немногие видели этот фильм, причём исключительно благодаря частично сохранившемуся и весьма изношенному нитропозитиву, находящемуся в Британском институте кино в Лондоне (ранее копия принадлежала швейцарской коллекции Joye, многие кадры в ней отсутствовали).
В 2020 году фактически состоялось второе рождение фильма — в Госфильмофонде России была идентифицирована ещё одна копия «Юдифи и Олоферна». Безупречно сохранившийся окрашенный нитропозитив принадлежал Сергею Ивановичу Осипову и был передан в Госфильмофонд в 1967 году. Осипов, дореволюционный прокатчик и владелец нескольких московских кинотеатров, в течение некоторого времени был партнёром крупнейшей компании «П. Тиман, Ф. Рейнгардт и С. Осипов». О самом Осипове мало что известно — даже его родственники не подозревали о кинематографическом прошлом своего деда и прадеда.
Эта копия чрезвычайно ценна по нескольким причинам. Прежде всего, потому что является копией «первого поколения», то есть напечатана непосредственно с оригинального негатива. Этот способ был распространён лишь в ранний период немого кинематографа и обеспечивал максимально высокое качество изображения (в более поздние времена обычно использовали дубль-негатив в качестве исходника для печати позитивных копий). Во-вторых, копия эта практически нетронута: на ней не обнаружено никаких следов порчи, гидролиза, нет даже незначительного износа фильмового материала. В-третьих, в фильме использовалось сразу три техники окрашивания: вирирование, тонирование и трафаретный способ (при последнем на каждый кадр цвет наносился вручную). И наконец, эта копия является максимально полной, с одной лишь оговоркой, что русские дореформенные интертитры весьма упрощены по сравнению с поэтичными титрами копии Британского института кино.
Фильм был отсканирован в разрешении 2K, были произведены стабилизация, чистка и устранение мерцания изображения. Особое внимание было уделено сопоставлению цветов исходного материала с отсканированным для обеспечения наиболее точной цветопередачи цифровой реставрированной копии фильма.
Премьера фильма «Юдифь и Олоферн» — долгожданное среди архивистов событие. Картина уже была запрошена для показа ведущими синематеками мира.

Тамара Шведюк
старший искусствовед Госфильмофонда России
Молодая вдова Юдифь спасает родной город от нашествия неприятеля. Раскрашенная вручную экранизация ветхозаветного сюжета, бережно отреставрированная специалистами Госфильмофонда.

РАСПИСАНИЕ ПОКАЗОВ

17 ноября, среда
16:30
Юдифь и Олоферн (1909)
Торквато Тассо (1909)
Торквато Тассо (1914)
Освобождённый Иерусалим (1911)
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Большой зал
Фильмы представит искусствовед Госфильмофонда Тамара Шведюк.
Видеообращение Федерико Стриули, историка немого кино, куратора, доктора философии (PhD).

18 ноября, четверг
19:35
Юдифь и Олоферн (1909)
Торквато Тассо (1909)
Торквато Тассо (1914)
Освобождённый Иерусалим (1911)
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Малый зал
Видеообращение Федерико Стриули, историка немого кино, куратора, доктора философии (PhD).

26 ноября, пятница
15:15
Юдифь и Олоферн (1909)
Торквато Тассо (1909)
Торквато Тассо (1914)
Освобождённый Иерусалим (1911)
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Большой зал
Фильмы представит искусствовед Госфильмофонда Тамара Шведюк.
Видеообращение Федерико Стриули, историка немого кино, куратора, доктора философии (PhD).

28 ноября, воскресенье
22:15
Юдифь и Олоферн (1909)
Торквато Тассо (1909)
Торквато Тассо (1914)
Освобождённый Иерусалим (1911)
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Малый зал
Видеообращение Федерико Стриули, историка немого кино, куратора, доктора философии (PhD).

!
Если вы студент профильного кинематографического вуза или факультета, киноколледжа или киношколы или имеете социальные льготы, пожалуйста, узнайте о специальных условиях в кинотеатре «Иллюзион» и забронируйте билет по телефону (495) 915-43-53. Забрать билет необходимо в кассе не позднее, чем за 30 минут до начала сеанса, предъявив соответствующий подтверждающий документ.
Made on
Tilda