THIS ANSWERING SERVICE TAKES NO MESSAGES / CE RÉPONDEUR NE PREND PAS DE MESSAGES
France, Caméra One Télévision, Pyramide Films, 1978, DCP, 65 minutes
Scriptwriter, director, and editor: Alain Cavalier
Director of photography: Jean-François Robin
Cast: Alain Cavalier
At the beginning of his career, Alain Cavalier was a director of conventional genre films, but even then, he was keenly interested in the documentary nature of cinema and its possibilities in displaying current events. The first two of his films - "Fire and Ice" (“Le combat dans l'île”, 1962) and "The Unvanquishes" (1964) - were associated with the recently ended Algerian War. However, although they were noticed by critics, they did not have serious commercial success. The same can be said about the classic detective story "Pillaged" (1967) that followed and even about the melodrama "Heartbeat" with Catherine Deneuve and Michel Piccoli (1968), after which Cavalier stopped directing. Only eight years later, he returned to the cinema to make low-budget experimental films.
In 1972, his wife, French actress and model Irène Tunc, died in a car crash. In an attempt to cope with this deep trauma, the director decides to turn the camera onto himself and creates a dark performance film "This Answering Service Takes No Messages". Alone with his memories, the main character, with his face covered with bandages, locks himself in the apartment and reads aloud his wife’s letters that show the emotional distress that killed her.
This mournful film follows the traditions of Robert Bresson with his ascetic "transcendental" style: close-ups of objects, walls, furniture, and hands of the protagonist. All of the objects in the frame that carry the memory of living together with a departed person, are shot in such a way as to serve as an instrument for reaching a more serious level of conversation about the most intimate, allowing the viewer to fill each image with associations. In addition to his attention to things, their materiality and symbolic meaning, Cavalier here demonstrates another creative strategy, which will later become key for him. Almost the entire textual part of the film is presented in the form of a voiceover, or rather two voices – the male and female ones. The first one functions in citation mode, when Cavalier transmits the words of his beloved: "She told me... She wrote..." The second one tells the story of the most traumatic, for the director, minutes in the hospital, where his wife died in his arms. There is also a third voice in the film: the diegetic one, the voice of Cavalier’s lyrical hero in the shot. Thus, the film contains an incredibly complex authorial speech. In this case, this is not surprising, because it is impossible to speak directly and simply about such a difficult and deep experience as the death of the person closest to you. Ultimately, all that remains for the director is the bodily performative gesture of despair, which becomes central to the film. Having got rid of all the things in the apartment where they had lived with Irène Tunc, Cavalier conducted a session of shock film therapy. Having painted all the walls, doors, and windows black, he literally shot his personal film noir, corresponding to his inner darkness, and was able to move on to the next stage of his life.

Dmitry Frolov
The first autobiographical film by Cavalier, which became for him an experience of shock film therapy. After the death of his wife in a car accident, he was forced to search again for the meaning of existence through a formal exercise. For seven days, the director filmed himself with a bandaged face in an apartment - always in one take and without subsequent editing. Gradually getting rid of painfully familiar things that remind him of his loss, he “buries” the familiar world under layers of black paint, which he paints over the entire space, and says goodbye to his past.
SHEDULE

November 20, Saturday
13:30
This Answering Service Takes No Messages (1978)
16+

The film will be presented by the curator of the program Dmitry Frolov.
Video message from director Alain Cavalier.
The Garage Museum
of Contemporary Art

November 25, Thursday
21:10
This Answering Service Takes No Messages (1978)
16+

The film will be presented by the curator of the program Dmitry Frolov.
Video message from director Alain Cavalier.
Illuzion Cinema
Big Hall

Made on
Tilda

ЭТОТ АВТООТВЕТЧИК НЕ ПРИНИМАЕТ СООБЩЕНИЯ / СE RÉPONDEUR NE PREND PAS DE MESSAGES

Франция, Caméra One Télévision, Pyramide Films, 1978, DCP, 65 минут
Автор сценария, режиссёр и монтажёр: Ален Кавалье
Оператор: Жан-Франсуа Робен
В ролях: Ален Кавалье
В начале своей карьеры Ален Кавалье был постановщиком традиционных жанровых фильмов, но уже тогда живо интересовался документальной природой кино и его возможностями в отображении текущих событий. Первые два фильма режиссёра — «Поединок на острове» (1962) и «Непокорённый» (1964) — были связаны с только что закончившейся Алжирской войной, однако, хотя и были замечены критиками, не имели серьёзного коммерческого успеха. То же можно сказать и о последовавшем за ними классическом детективе «Ограбление» (1967) и даже о мелодраме с Катрин Денёв и Мишелем Пикколи «Смятение» (1968), после которой Кавалье перестал снимать. Лишь восемь лет спустя он вернулся в кино, чтобы делать малобюджетные экспериментальные картины.
В 1972 году его жена, французская актриса и модель Ирен Тюнк, разбилась в автокатастрофе. В попытках справиться с этой глубокой травмой, режиссёр принимает решение обратить камеру на самого себя и создаёт мрачный фильм-перформанс «Этот автоответчик не принимает сообщения». Наедине со своими воспоминаниями главный герой с перемотанным бинтами лицом запирается в квартире и зачитывает письма своей жены, свидетельствующие о душевных страданиях, которые погубили её.
Этот траурный фильм наследует традиции Робера Брессона, с его аскетичным «трансцендентальным» стилем — крупные планы предметов, стен, мебели и рук главного героя. Все объекты в кадре, несущие в себе память о совместной жизни с ушедшим человеком, сняты так, чтобы служить инструментом выхода на более серьёзный уровень разговора о самом сокровенном, позволяя зрителю наполнить каждый образ ассоциациями. Помимо внимания к вещам, их материальности и символическому значению, Кавалье демонстрирует здесь ещё одну художественную стратегию, которая впоследствии станет для него ключевой. Почти вся текстуальная часть фильма представлена в форме закадрового голоса, вернее, двух голосов: мужского и женского. Первый функционирует в режиме цитирования, когда Кавалье передаёт слова своей возлюбленной: «Она говорила мне… Она писала…» Второй озвучивает историю о наиболее травматичных для режиссёра минутах в клинике, где на его руках умерла жена. В фильме есть и третий голос — диегетический, голос лирического героя Кавалье в кадре. Таким образом, эта картина содержит невероятно сложно устроенную авторскую речь. В данном случае это неудивительно, ведь сказать прямо и просто о таком тяжёлом и глубоком переживании, как смерть самого близкого человека, невозможно. В конечном итоге всё, что остаётся режиссёру, — это телесный перформативный жест отчаяния, который и становится центральным для фильма. Избавившись от всех вещей в квартире, где они жили вместе с Ирен Тюнк, Кавалье провёл сеанс шоковой кинотерапии. Покрасив все стены, двери и окна в чёрный цвет, он буквально снял свой персональный «фильм-нуар», соответствующий его внутренней тьме, и смог перейти к следующему этапу своей жизни.

Дмитрий Фролов
куратор, соучредитель и куратор Московского международного фестиваля экспериментальных фильмов (MIEFF)
После гибели жены в автокатастрофе режиссёр на протяжении семи дней снимал себя в квартире с забинтованным лицом — всегда одним дублем и без последующих монтажных нарезок. Постепенно избавляясь от знакомых вещей, напоминающих об утрате, он хоронит привычный мир под слоями чёрной краски и прощается со своим прошлым. Первый автобиографический фильм Кавалье, ставший для него опытом шоковой кинотерапии.
РАСПИСАНИЕ ПОКАЗОВ

20 ноября, суббота
13:30
Этот автоответчик не принимает сообщения (1978)
16+
Лекторий Музея
«Гараж»
Фильм представит куратор программы Дмитрий Фролов.
Видеообращение режиссёра Алена Кавалье.

25 ноября, четверг
21:10
Этот автоответчик не принимает сообщения (1978)
16+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Большой зал
Фильм представит куратор программы Дмитрий Фролов.
Видеообращение режиссёра Алена Кавалье.

!
Если вы студент профильного кинематографического вуза или факультета, киноколледжа или киношколы или имеете социальные льготы, пожалуйста, узнайте о специальных условиях в кинотеатре «Иллюзион» и забронируйте билет по телефону (495) 915-43-53. Забрать билет необходимо в кассе не позднее, чем за 30 минут до начала сеанса, предъявив соответствующий подтверждающий документ.
Made on
Tilda