BUBA
USSR, Goskinprom of Georgia, 1930, 37 minutes
Restored by 3003 FILM PRODUCTION.
Digital copy with added soundtrack courtesy of 3003 FILM PRODUCTION. Music by Giorgi Tsintsadze. DCP
Scriptwriter and director: Nutsa Gogoberidze
Cameraman: Sergey Zabozlaev
Production designer: David Kakabadze

On July 20, 1930 the USSR premiere of the documentary film “Buba”, made for the joint-stock film company Goskinprom of Georgia by the first Georgian woman director Nutsa (Nino) Gogoberidze, artist David Kakabadze and cameraman Sergey Zabozlaev took place.
The film had the subtitle "A Story from the Life of the Mountainous Racha" and told about a village cut off from the outside world, located at the height of 2,000 meters in the region of Racha near Mount Buba. The existence of its inhabitants was completely dependent on the seasons and changeable weather, and their way of life could be called medieval.
In Soviet cinema of the 1920s-early 1930s, educational documentaries occupied an important place (often they also included staged episodes). Following the tradition of such kulturfilms, in "Buba" the progressive achievements of the new Soviet society were opposed to primitive village life.
The director of the film, Nutsa Gogoberidze, was also the author of the script. “Buba” is her second film work. Prior to that, she directed the compilation documentary “Their Kingdom” (1928) with Mikhail Kalatozishvili (who later became known as Kalatozov). Out of this “newsreel picture” (as Gogoberidze and Kalatozishvili called it in a short manifesto published in the journal of Georgian futurists "Memartskheneoba"), only two large fragments have survived, but they are enough to demonstrate the authors' active interest in the avant-garde experiments of that time.
A vivid reminder of Gogoberidze's previous work in "Buba" is an episode with a dance of villagers before the departure of carpenters to seasonal work. It refers to the famous protest dance in the classic film of Georgian - and world - avant-garde “Eliso” (1928, directed by Nikolay Shengelaya). Familiarity with the principles of avant-garde film editing is also felt in the striking episode of harvesting.
However, the potential radicalism of such moments - so important for the famous "ethnographic" film "Salt for Svanetia" by Kalatozov (released in May 1930) - is softened by Gogoberidze's tactful and, at the same time, deep, almost metaphysical sense of customs, rituals, human and natural rhythms of life (prior to her work in cinema, Gogoberidze collected Georgian folklore and studied philosophy).
A significant contribution to the stylistic achievements of “Buba” was made by the artist David Kakabadze, who had a keen sense of Georgian culture and had had an education in international avant-garde (while Gogoberidze studied in Germany at the Department of Philosophy at the University of Jena, he was actively involved in artistic experiments in France). The cinematography of Sergey Zabozlaev also should be noted: he started to work in cinema in the early 1920s, was sensitive to the individual preferences of the filmmakers who worked with him and knew how to combine the monumental and the decorative in the natural and cultural wealth that surrounded him.
Shortly after its release, "Buba" was banned. What caused this? Perhaps, overloading the with “neutral” religious images, or the unfolding criticism of kulturfilm as a simplified cinematic form that interferes with the full-fledged development of Soviet cinema. One way or another, "Buba" spent many years in oblivion and has only recently been rediscovered by the international film community.

Sergey Kapterev
Ethnographic documentary film about a mountain village in the north of Georgia and the change in its way of life with the advent of Soviet power.
SHEDULE

November 17, Wednesday
13:30
Buba (1930)
Desperate Valley / Ujmuri (1934)
Films will be screened in their original language with Russian subtitles.
12+

Public talk with directors Lana Gogoberidze and Salome Alexi (online).
Illuzion Cinema
Big Hall

November 18, Thursday
12:45
Buba (1930)
Desperate Valley / Ujmuri (1934)
Films will be screened in their original language with Russian subtitles.
12+

The films will be presented by directors Lana Gogoberidze and Salome Alexi (online).
Illuzion Cinema
Big Hall
17:35
Buba (1930)
Desperate Valley / Ujmuri (1934)
Films will be screened in their original language with Russian subtitles.
12+

Video message from director Lana Gogoberidze.
Illuzion Cinema
Small Hall

November 27, Saturday
10:00
Buba (1930)
Desperate Valley / Ujmuri (1934)
Films will be screened in their original language with Russian subtitles.
12+

Video message from director Lana Gogoberidze.
Illuzion Cinema
Big Hall

Made on
Tilda

БУБА
СССР, Госкинпром Грузии, 1930, 37 минут
Реставрация произведена компанией 3003 FILM PRODUCTION. Цифровая озвученная копия предоставлена компанией 3003 FILM PRODUCTION. Музыка Георгия Цинцадзе. DCP
Автор сценария и режиссёр: Нуца Гогоберидзе
Оператор: Сергей Забозлаев
Художник: Давид Какабадзе
20 июля 1930 года в СССР состоялась премьера документального фильма «Буба», сделанного для кинематографического акционерного общества «Госкинпром Грузии» первой грузинской женщиной-режиссёром Нуцей (Нино) Гогоберидзе, художником Давидом Какабадзе и оператором Сергеем Забозлаевым.
Фильм имел подзаголовок «История из жизни горной Рачи» и рассказывал об оторванной от внешнего мира деревне, находящейся на 2000-метровой высоте в краю Рача рядом с горой Бубой. Существование жителей полностью зависело от времен года и изменчивой погоды, а уклад их жизни можно было назвать средневековым.
В советском кино 1920-х — начала 1930-х годов важное место занимали учебно-просветительские документальные киноленты (нередко в них использовались и постановочные сцены). Следуя традиции таких «культурфильмов», в «Бубе» примитивной деревенской жизни противопоставлялись прогрессивные достижения нового советского общества.
Режиссёр фильма — Нуца Гогоберидзе — была также и автором сценария. «Буба» — её вторая работа в кино. До этого она поставила с Михаилом Калатозишвили (ставшим известным как Калатозов) монтажно-документальный фильм «Их царство» (1928). От этой «картины-кинохроники» (так Гогоберидзе и Калатозишвили назвали её в коротком манифесте, опубликованном в журнале грузинских футуристов «Мемарцхенеоба») сохранилось лишь два больших фрагмента, но и они демонстрируют активный интерес авторов к авангардистским экспериментам той поры.
Яркое напоминание в «Бубе» о предыдущем опыте работы Гогоберидзе — эпизод с танцем деревенских жителей перед уходом мужчин-плотников на сезонные заработки. Он отсылает к знаменитому танцу-протесту в классическом фильме грузинского — и мирового — киноавангарда «Элисо» (1928, режиссёр Николай Шенгелая). Знакомство с принципами авангардного киномонтажа чувствуется и в эффектном эпизоде уборки урожая.
Однако потенциальный радикализм таких моментов — столь важный для вышедшего на экран в мае 1930 года знаменитого «этнографического» фильма «Соль Сванетии» Калатозова — смягчается тактичным и одновременно глубоким, почти метафизическим ощущением Гогоберидзе обычаев, ритуалов, человеческих и природных ритмов жизни (до прихода в кино Гогоберидзе собирала грузинский фольклор и изучала философию).
Значительный вклад в стилистические достижения «Бубы» внёс художник Давид Какабадзе, тонко чувствовавший грузинскую культуру и прошедший школу международного авангарда (в то время как Гогоберидзе училась в Германии на философском факультете Йенского университета, он активно занимался художественными экспериментами во Франции). Надо отметить и операторское мастерство Сергея Забозлаева, пришедшего в кино в начале 1920-х годов, чуткого к индивидуальным предпочтениям работавших с ним кинематографистов и умевшего соединять монументальность и декоративность окружавшего его природного и культурного богатства.
Вскоре после выхода на экран «Бубу» запретили. Чем это было вызвано? Возможно, перегруженностью «нейтральными» религиозными образами или развернувшейся критикой «культурфильма» как упрощённой кинематографической формы, мешающей полноценному развитию советского кино. Так или иначе, «Буба» на долгие годы ушла в забвение и только недавно была переоткрыта международной кинообщественностью.

Сергей Каптерев
киновед, доктор философии (PhD)
Горная деревня на севере Грузии жила по старинному укладу, но всё изменилось с приходом прогрессивной советской власти. Документальная этнографическая лента, долгие годы пролежавшая на полке.
РАСПИСАНИЕ ПОКАЗОВ

17 ноября, среда
13:30
Буба (1930)
Мрачная долина / Ужмури (1934)
Фильмы будут показаны на языке оригинала с русскими субтитрами.
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Большой зал
Паблик-ток с режиссёрами Ланой Гогоберидзе и Саломэ Алекси (видеосвязь).

18 ноября, четверг
12:45
Буба (1930)
Мрачная долина / Ужмури (1934)
Фильмы будут показаны на языке оригинала с русскими субтитрами.
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Большой зал
Фильмы представят режиссёры Лана Гогоберидзе и Саломэ Алекси (видеосвязь).
17:35
Буба (1930)
Мрачная долина / Ужмури (1934)
Фильмы будут показаны на языке оригинала с русскими субтитрами.
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Малый зал
Видеообращение режиссёра Ланы Гогоберидзе.

27 ноября, суббота
10:00
Буба (1930)
Мрачная долина / Ужмури (1934)
Фильмы будут показаны на языке оригинала с русскими субтитрами.
12+
Кинотеатр «Иллюзион»
Большой зал
Видеообращение режиссёра Ланы Гогоберидзе.

!
Если вы студент профильного кинематографического вуза или факультета, киноколледжа или киношколы или имеете социальные льготы, пожалуйста, узнайте о специальных условиях в кинотеатре «Иллюзион» и забронируйте билет по телефону (495) 915-43-53. Забрать билет необходимо в кассе не позднее, чем за 30 минут до начала сеанса, предъявив соответствующий подтверждающий документ.
Made on
Tilda